SSC CGL 2018 Syllabus for Tier I, II, III & IV Exam

SSC CGL Syllabus: Tier I, II, III & IV Syllabus

Recent development in the matter of SSC shows that all the pending SSC Exams will start soon. Most of the students have been asking about the syllabus of SSC CGL exam. SSC CGL is conducted every year and more than 30 Lakh students appear for the same. Being a graduate level exam, the syllabus for SSC CGL will have all the basic topcs from Quantitative Aptitude, Numerical Ability, General Awareness and English Language. In this article, we will cover the SSC CGL Syllabus for Tier I, Tier II, Tier II and Tier IV. Whatever be the judgement, one thing is for sure that SSC CGL Syllabus will not change at any cost. We may have been hearing that SSC has changed the vendor for conducting online examination but Exam Pattern and Syllabus for SSC CGL will remain the same.

SSC CGL 2018 Tier I Exam Syllabus:

Tier-I exam of SSC CGL 2018 is an online mode of examination having 4 sections in total. The total marks allotted for all the sections is 200 and the total time allotted for the completion of all the sections of SSC CGL Tier-I exam is 60 minutes. A cumulative time of 80 minutes is allotted to physically handicapped students. 0.5 marks will be deducted from every question that is attempted wrong by a candidate in SSC CGL 2018 exam.
General Intelligence and Reasoning General Awareness Quantitative Aptitude English Comprehension
Classification Static General Knowledge (Indian History, Culture etc.) Simplification Reading Comprehension
Analogy Science Interest Fill in the Blanks
Coding-Decoding Current Affairs Averages Spellings
Puzzle Sports Percentage Phrases and Idioms
Matrix Books and Authors Ratio and Proportion One word Substitution
Word Formation Important Schemes Problem on Ages Sentence Correction
Venn Diagram Portfolios Speed, Distance and Time Error Spotting
Direction and Distance People in News Number System
Blood Relations Mensuration
Series Data Interpretation
Verbal reasoning Time and Work
Non-Verbal Reasoning Algebra

SSC CGL 2018 Tier-II Syllabus:

Tier-II exam has a total mark of 200. A total of 100 questions are asked in Quant section with 200 questions asked in the English Language Section. A time limit of 2 hours is provided to the candidate to complete each sectionof SSC CGL 2018 Tier-II Exam. The cumulative time to complete Tier-II exam is increased to 2 hours 40 minutes in case of physically handicappedstudents. 0.25 marks is deducted as penalty for attempting a question wrong.
Quantitative Aptitude English Language Statistics General Awareness
Simplification Reading Comprehension Collection and Representation of Data Finance and Accounting
Interest Spelling Measure of Dispersion Fundamental Principles
Averages Fill in the Blanks Measure of Central Tendency Financial Accounting
Percentage Phrases and Idioms Moments, Skewness and Kurtosis Basic Concepts of Accounting
Ratio and Proportion One Word Substitution Correlation and Regression Self-Balancing Ledger
Speed, Distance and Time Sentence Correction Random Variables Error Spotting and Correction
Number System Error Spotting Random Variables
Mensuration Cloze Test Sampling Theory Economics and Governance
Data Interpretation Para Jumbles Analysis and Variance Comptroller and Auditor General of India
Time and Work Synonyms-Antonyms Time Series Analysis Finance Commission
Algebra Active-Passive Voice Index Number Theory of Demand and Supply
Data Sufficiency

SSC CGL 2018 Tier-III Syllabus:

Tier-III of SSC CGL 2018 exam is a descriptive exam to test the written skills of the candidates in English/Hindi. The mode of examination is offline and students are required to write essays, précis, application, letter etc. in this exam. The exam carries 100 marks and the time allotted for the same is 60 minutes. The time allotted for candidates belonging to PWD category is increased to 80 minutes. Tier-III paper is given by specific candidates who are interested only for the post of “Statistical Investigator Grade II” & “Compiler”.

SSC CGL 2018 Tier-IV Syllabus:

Tier-IV examination comprises of couple of skill sets required for certain Government Posts all over the country.
Tier-I and Tier-II exam is compulsory for all posts mentioned in the SSC CGL 2018 Notification of while Tier-III is specifically for candidates applying for the post of Statistical Investigator Grade-II and Compiler. Similarly, Tier-IV exam is taken by candidates applying specifically for TA, CSS, MEA and Inspector.
Penalty for wrong answers
Giving a wrong answer to a question will lead to deduction of 0.5 marks in Tier – I, III and IV while that of 0.25 marks in Tier-II.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here